Hunter Reay Leads The Way in Practice 2 In St Pete


Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda led the way in the second practice session on the opening day of practice for Sunday’s NTT IndyCar Series season opening Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg.

Hunter Reay set a fastest time of 01:00.8969s and ended the session just ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot.

Marco Andretti in the No.98 US Concrete Honda for Andretti Herta Autosport was third fastest and speaking to the IndyCar Series radio network he said that he is excited to be more involved in the series having taken up an ownership stake in his car for 2019.

Harding Steinbrenner Racing had a strong session with Colton Herta in the No.88 Latitude Vacation Club Honda setting the fourth fastest time with a 01:01.0776s.

It was a strong session for the Carling Racing team with both cars finishing the afternoon inside the top ten with Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet in fifth place just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda.

Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda was seventh fastest with a time of 01:01.1453s having recovered from a spin.

Charlie Kimball in the No.23 Tresiba Chevrolet was eighth fastest just ahead of Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Hitachi Chevrolet and Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet who rounded out the top ten.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal was 11th fastest just ahead of his team mate Takuma Sato.

Defending series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda was 13th fastest for Chip Ganassi Racing with a time of 01:01:4284s ending the session just ahead of his team mate and the man who was fastest this morning Felix Rosenqvist in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda.

Ed Jones was 15th fastest for Ed Carpenter Racing with Scuderia Corsa ending the session just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Mathues Matt Leist in the No.4 ABC Supply Chevrolet.

Simon Pagenaud in the No.12 Menards Chevrolet was 17th fastest for Team Penske just ahead of Dale Coyne with Vasser Sullivan Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais while Marcus Ericsson was 19th for Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda was 20th just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s Santino Ferrucci.

Tony Kanaan was 22nd for AJ Foyt Racing in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet. Zach Veach was 23rd for Andretti Autosport while DragonSpeed’s Ben Hanley rounded out the order in 24th place.

Leave a Reply