Sato Dominates In Barber

Takuma Sato will stay with Rahal In 2019
 Takuma Sato will stay with Rahal In 2019

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Takuma Sato in the No.30 MiJack Panasonic Honda converted his pole position at Barber Motorsports Park to win the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

Sato came home just ahead of defending series champion Scott Dixon driving the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Dale Coyne with Vassar Sullivan Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda rounded out the podium in third place.

It was a fantastic day for Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Fitzgerald USA Chevrolet as he came through the field to finish the race in fourth place just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda.

Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda and his team mate Marcus Ericsson in the No.7 Arrow Electronics came home in sixth and seventh place respectively.

Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda for Andretti Autosport finished the race in eighth place just ahead of Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet and Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet who rounded out the top ten.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda finished the race in 11th place just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Zach Veach in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda and Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda.

Marco Andretti in the No.98 US Concrete Honda was 14th just ahead of Santino Ferrucci in the No.19 David Yurman Honda.

Patricio O’Ward was 16th for Carlin Racing just ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot in the No.21 Autogeek Chevrolet and Tony Kanaan in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet.

Ed Jones was 19th just ahead of Mathues Matt Leist in the No.4 ABC Supply Chevrolet and DragonSpeed’s Ben Hanley.

Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet ended the race in 22nd place. Graham Rahal and Colton Herta were the only two retirements from the race.

Leave a Reply