Six-time NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon who drives the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing celebrated his 51st career victory on Saturday night at Texas Motor Speedway where he won the Genesys 300.

Rewins to 6th May 2001, in only his third start in the IndyCar Series with PacWest Racing, the Iceman scored his maiden victory at Nazareth Speedway in Pennsylvania.

Dixon joined Target Chip Ganassi Racing’s CART team from the fourth race of the season in 2002 before moving to IndyCar with the team for the 2003 season where he scored his first of 50 wins for the outfit at the Homestead Miami Speedway and went on to take a further two wins and three second-place finishes which resulted in the Iceman winning his maiden IndyCar Series championship.

Dixon, who is Ganassi’s longest-serving driver heads into the month of May at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway with a 22 point lead in the championship over Arrow McLaren SP’s Pato O’Ward.

Chip Ganassi Racing tweeted on Thursday:

Dixon is now just one win away from equaling IndyCar legend Mario Andretti to second in the all-time list of mostย  IndyCar Series wins.

Share This