The 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil is just 32 days away and with that in mind we thought we would take a look at who is expected to be the front runner in the field of 33.

Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud has hit the ground running in the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series season taking two victories for Roger Penske and collecting four podium finishes in the first for races of the year and heads into the month of May 48 points ahead of reigning series champion Scott Dixon who is in second place.

Juan Pablo Montoya goes into the month of May following an incredible fight back last time out at Barber Motorsports Park where he came through the field from 21st place to finish 5th.

Montoya took victory in the 99th running of the Indianapolis 500 last year having returned to IndyCar with Roger Penske last season.

Will Power is likely to be a challenger for the race win this season along with team mate Helio Castroneves.

Tony Kanaan and Scott Dixon will more than likely be contenders during the month of May, Dixon won the Indianapolis 500 in 2008 while Tony Kanaan won the race in 2013 for the KV Racing Technology team.

James Hinchcliffe will take part in his first Indianapolis 500 for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports this season having been forced to miss last year’s race due to injury. The Mayor of Hinchtown has had a difficult return to IndyCar so far this season but his results have improved in the last two races and last time out at the Barber Motorsports Park Hinch finished the race in sixth giving him a nice platform to start the month of May with.


Share This