The 107th running of the Indianapolis 500, presented by Gainbridge, is exactly five weeks away. As the anticipation and excitement builds for the Greatest Spectacle In Racing, we found out this week that there will be 34 cars vying for a place on the grid of 33 spots available.

Abel Motorsports, the INDY NXT front-running team announced on Friday that they are preparing a Chevrolet-powered entry for RC Enerson who did not participate in Thursday’s open test at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. In 2023, there are 27 full-time entrants in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES broken down like this:

Arrow McLaren 3

AJ Foyt Racing 2

Andretti Autosport 4

Chip Ganassi Racing 4

Dale Coyne Racing 2

Ed Carpenter Racing 2

Meyer Shank Racing 2

Team Penske 3

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 3

Juncos Hollinger Racing 2

Of the full-time teams in the series, 4 have added a driver for the Indianapolis 500.

Arrow McLaren – Tony Kanaan 66 Chevrolet

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing – Katherine Legge 44 Honda

Andretti Autosport – Marco Andretti 98 Honda

Ed Carpenter Racing – Ed Carpenter 33

Dreyer and Reinbold Racing are an Indy-only team. For 2023, they have partnered with Don Cusick’s Cusick Motorsports to enter Stefan Wilson in the No.24 Chevrolet while Ryan Hunter Reay returns to the Indianapolis 500 in the No.25 Chevrolet.

It will be an extremely interesting month of May at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, with the action underway on May 15 following the GMR Grand Prix of Indianapolis on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

Share This