The Indianapolis 500, the largest single day sporting event in the world takes place at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Sunday.

The Greatest Spectacle In Racing is steepped in tradition from driver introductions to the famed Borg Warner winners trophy.

One tradition that began in 1936 and lives on to the present day is the fact that the winner of the Indianapolis 500 is presented with a bottle of milk.

This tradition goes back 87 says to 1936 when Louis Meyer asked for a glass of Buttermilk after pulling into Victory Lane at the Racing Capital Of The World  to win his third Indianapolis 500.

The tradition lives on and also includes the annual rookie luncheon which takes place later today (Wednesday).

AJ Foyt Racing’s Benjamin Pedersen will be honored at the event as the fastest rookie. Benjamin will start Sunday’s race from 11th place in the No.55 Sexton Properties Chevrolet just one place behind defending race winner Marcus Ericsson.

Share This