It may only be February 8, and the start of the 2024 INDYCAR SERIES may still be a month away with the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg presented by RP Funding taking place from March 8-10 but we already have a full field of 33 cars for the 108th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge on May 26.

Here at Paddock Eye, we thought we would take a look at what we can expect at the open test which takes place in early April at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Abel Motorsports are coming back this season with RC Enerson who was at the INDYCAR SERIES media content event downtown last month.

Arrow McLaren will run four cars with Pato O’Ward, Alexander Rossi and David Malukas will be joined by 2021 NASCAR Cup Series champion Kyle Larson who will drive the No.17 Chevrolet entry.

Andretti Global has trimmed down to three cars full-time with Colton Herta, Kyle Kirkwood and 2022 Indy 500 winner Marcus Ericsson who are joined by Marco Andretti.

AJ Foyt Racing will not run a third in 2024 and will instead focus on their full-time drivers, Sting Ray Robb and Santino Ferrucci who finished third in last year’s race driving the No.14 Chevrolet.

Chip Ganassi Racing has expanded to five full-time cars with Six-time series champion Scott Dixon, defending series champion Alex Palou, Marcus Armstrong, Linus Lindqvist and Kyffin Simpson.

Dale Coyne Racing will have two cars with as yet TBC drivers for the season.

Dreyer and Reinbold Racing with Cusick Motorsports have Ryan Hunter-Reay and Conor Daly locked in for the race.

Ed Carpenter Racing will run their three cars for the race with Ed Carpenter joining Christian Rasmassun and Rinus VeeKay.

Juncos Hollinger Racing has two cars with Agustin Canapino returning for his sophomore year in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES while Romain Grosjean joins the team from Andretti Global.

Meyer Shank Racing will run three cars with Felix Rosenqvist and Tom Blomqvist joined by team co-owner Helio Castroneves.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing has three drivers Pietro Fittipaldi, Christian Lundgaard, and Graham Rahal while the team may run a fourth car potentially for either two-time Indy 500 champion Takuma Sato or Katherine Legge may return.

Finally, Team Penske has their drivers, Scott McLaughlin, Will Power, and 2023 Indy 500 winner Josef Newgarden.


  1. RC Enerson


2. Colton Herta

3. Kyle Kirkwood

4. Marcus Ericsson

5. Marco Andretti

Arrow McLaren

6. Pato O’Ward

7. David Malukas

8. Alexander Rossi

9. Kyle Larson

AJ Foyt Racing

10 Santino Ferrucci

11. Sting Ray Robb

Chip Ganassi Racing

12. Scott Dixon

13. Alex Palou

14. Kyffin Simpson

15. Linus Lindqvist

16. Marcus Armstrong

Dale Coyne Racing



Dreyer And Reinbold Racing with Cusick Motorsports

19. Ryan Hunter-Reay

20. Conor Daly

Ed Carpenter Racing

21. Ed Carpenter

22. Christian Rasmussen

23. Rinus VeeKay

Juncos Hollinger Racing

24. Romain Grosjean

25. Augustin Canapino

Meyer Shank Racing

26. Helio Castronevess

27. Felix Rosenqvist

28. Tom Blmoqvist

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, assuming the team led by Bobby Rahal opts to have four cars in the field for this year, they could run Katherine Legge like last season, Juri Vips could be an option as could Stefan Wilson.

29. Graham Rahal

30. Pietro Fittipaldi

31. Christian Lundgaard

Team Penske

32. Josef Newgarden

33. Will Power

34. Scott McLaughlin

As it stands with the field oversubscribed by one car, one team and driver combination will be going home possibly two if Rahal does decide to run four cars.

Share This