Josef Newgarden’s victory in Sunday’s XPEL 375 at Texas Motor Speedway not only marked the second victory in a row for Team Penske in the NTT IndyCar Series 2022 season but it also marked Penske’s 600th overall race win across all competition.

The first win for Roger Penske Racing came on February 6, 1966 when Dick Guldstrand who took a  GT class win in the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona. The team’s 50th win came courtesy of Mark Donohue at the 1971 Michigan 200. Bobby Unser scored the team’s 100th victory at the 1981 Indianapolis 500, his third win at the Greatest Spectacle In Racing however, he was later disqualified with Mario Andretti awarded the victory, despite this however, he was later reinstated as the winner of the race following a court battle.

Paul Tracey took Team Penske’s 200th victory driving the iconic No.3 Marlboro Team Penske Mercedes Benz at the inaugural race at Gateway International Raceway on May 25, 1997. Team Penske’s 100th NTT IndyCar Series victory came courtesy of Gil de Ferran at Nazareth Speedway, on April 9, 2000, ending a three year winless streak for The Captain’s team.

The team’s 300th win came courtesy of Ryan Briscoe at the Milwaukee Mile IndyCar race on June 1, 2008. Win number 400 for the Penske organization came from Brad Keselowski in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race at Rchmond Raceway in 2014 in the No.2 Miller Lite Ford Fusion on September 6, 2014. Team Penske’s 100th Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series victory once again came courtesy of Brad Keselowski in the No.2 Detroit Genuine Parts Ford Fusion at Daytona in 2016 at the Coke Zero 400.

Will Power started the 2018 GMR Grand Prix of Indianapolis from pole and led 56 laps to claim Team Penske’s 200th NTT IndyCar Series victory on May 12, 2018. On September 16, 2018, Brad Keselowski once again took a landmark victory for Team Penske as he claimed their 500th overall win at Las Vegas Speedway driving the No.2 AutoTrader Ford Fusion.

Austin Cindric in the No.22 Menards Ford Fusion took the team’s 200th Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series victory at Road America on August 8, 2020. Josef Newgarden in the No.2 PPG Chevrolet took the team’s 600th victory in Sunday’s XPEL 375 at Texas Motor Speedway but not only that, with Scott McLaughlin on the podium the team scored a great 1-2 finish.

The NTT IndyCar Series has the most victories with 224 with Will Power having scored the most wins at 37, one ahead of former Team Penske driver Helio Castroneves who scored three of his four Indianapolis 500 wins with Team Penske including taking victory on his debut with the team in the year 2000 and successfully defending his title in 2001.


Share This