The 106th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge takes place next Sunday, May 29 with 33 drivers vying for a place in the history books where their name will feature alongside such legends of our sport like Mario Andretti, Dario Franchitti, Louis Meyer and Helio Castroneves to name but a few.

In a tradition that dates back to 1933, when the affirmentioned Louis Meyer asked for a glass of ice cold buttermilk.

Meyer was not only the first driver to request a glass of milk but he was also the first three-time winner of The Greatest Spectacle In Racing taking victory in 1928, 33 and 36.

It wasn’t until 1956 that the celebratory bottle of milk was made a permanent fixture of the Victory Lane celebrations by than Speedway owner, Anton ‘Tony’ Hulman.

This year, seven rookies have made their milk selection for the race should they win. The selection process has become a famed part of this world famous tradition.

Share This