The Verizon IndyCar Series have issued the following statement in answer to criticism as to why Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach race winner Simon Pagenaud wasn’t penalized for failing to adhere to the pit-lane protocol.

Simon Pagenaud’s actions during the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach were deemed an infraction per Rule 7.10.1.1. “Lane Usage” of the INDYCAR Penalty Guidelines: Failing to follow designated procedures entering or exiting the pit area, including the proper use of the acceleration and deceleration lanes. The penalty for this infraction ranges from a warning (minimum), putting the driver to the back of the field (mid) and drive-through or stop and go/hold (maximum). INDYCAR race stewards determined his actions were not severe enough to warrant a harsher penalty than the warning that was issued.

Pagenaud won the race ahead of Target Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon.

Share This