The 2021 NTT IndyCar Series field has taken shape nicely following the news on Friday that Dale Coyne Racing have entered into a season long partnership with Rick Ware Racing for 2021 adding the No.51 Honda for the season and the No.52 for the Indianapolis 500 in May.

Here is what we know at Team Penske – Josef Newgarden, Scott McLaughlin, (McLaughlin makes his full-time switch to IndyCar with Penske), Will Power and Simon Pagenaud.

Chip Ganassi Racing return to a four-car team with defending series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda, Alex Palou joins the team in the No.10 NTT Data Honda, Marcus Ericsson returns to the team in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Honda while seven-time Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson driving the No.48 Carvana Honda joins the team for road and street course events making his race debut at Barber Motorsports Park on April 18.

Tony Kanaan will drive the No.48 Carvana Honda for the oval races this year including the 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbeidge.

Sebastien Bourdais makes his NTT IndyCar Series return this season with AJ Foyt Racing while Dalton Kellett moves to a full-time drive for this season.

Dale Coyne with Vassar Sullivan Racing have brought Ed Jones back to the NTT IndyCar Series. Jones will drive the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda while team owner Dale Coyne will confirm who the drive of the second car in partnership with Rick Ware Racing next week.

Andretti Autosport have four full-time drivers this season with Colton Herta driving the No.26 Gainbridge Honda, Alexander Rossi is in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda, Ryan Hunter Reay is in the No.28 DHL Honda while James Hinchcliffe returns to full-time IndyCar competition in the No.29 Genesys Honda. (Genesys will serve as primary sponsor to Hinch for ten races this season including the Indianapolis 500). Marco Andretti will compete in the Indianapolis 500.

Ed Carpenter Racing have retained Conor Daly and Rinus Veekay for 2021 with Ed Carpenter competing in the oval races.

Arrow McLaren SP have retained Pato O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet while Felix Rosenqvist joins the team from Chip Ganassi Racing in the No.7 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet.

Meyer Shank Racing have expanded to two cars with Helio Castroneves returning to IndyCar for a partial schedule alongside full-time driver Jack Harvey.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing have Graham Rahal and Takuma Sato returning this season while Paddock Eye understands that Max Chilton will return to the NTT IndyCar Series with Carlin Racing for road and street course events and the 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 in May with Conor Daly competing in the oval races again just like in 2020.

Team Penske – 4

Andretti Autosport – 4

Chip Ganassi Racing – 4

Arrow McLaren SP – 2

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing – 2

Dale Coyne Racing – 2

Ed Carpenter Racing – 2

Meyer Shank Racing – 2

Carlin Racing – 1

It means that there will be 24 cars on the grid from the opening race of the season, the IndyCar Grand Prix of Barber Motorsports Park on April 18.

Share This