Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden in the No.2 PPG Chevrolet picked up where he left off in St Pete on Friday as he topped the opening NTT IndyCar Series practice session at the Circuit Of The Americas in Austin Texas ahead of Sunday’s inaugural IndyCar Classic.

The Tennessee native set a fastest time of 01:48.6567s ending the session just ahead of Harding Steinbrenner Racing’s Colton Herta in the No.88 Latitude Vacation Club Honda who picked where he left off following Spring Training here last month. Herta set a fastest time of 01:48.7939s.

Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda was third fastest just ahead of his team mate Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal in the No.15 Total Honda was fifth fastest with a time of 01:49.5076s.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda continued his impressive start to his career as he set the sixth fastest time just ahead of Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet and Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet.

Defending series champion Scott Dixon driving the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing was ninth fastest with a time of 01:49.8542s.

Carlin Racing’s Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet rounded out the top ten.

Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Marcus Ericsson in the No.7 Arrow Electronics Honda was 11th fastest just ahead of his team mate James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda.

Mathues Matt Leist in the No.4 ABC Supply Chevrolet for AJ Foyt Racing was 13th fastest just ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot.

Santino Ferrucci in the No.19 Cly Del Honda was 15th fastest with a 01:50.3986s.

Returning to the NTT IndyCar Series with Carlin Racing this weekend, Patricio O’Ward was 16th fastest.

Andretti Autosport’s Marco Andretti in the No.98 US Concrete Honda was 17th just ahead of his team mate Zach Veach in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Takuma Sato in the No.30 MiJack Panasonic Honda was 19th just ahead of Dale Coyne with Vassar Sullivan Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda.

Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda 21st just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Tony Kanaan in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet.

Kyle Kaiser in the No.32 Chevrolet for Juncos Racing was 23rd fastest while Ed Jones in the No.20 Chevrolet rounded out the order for Ed Carpenter Racing with Scuderia Corsa.

Share This