Two time Formula One world champion Fernando Alonso who will attempt to qualify for the 104th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge in August took victory in the opening race of the Legends Trophy presented by ROKiT.

The Spaniard battled hard with his former McLaren F1 team mate and 2009 Formula One world champion Jenson Button who finished the race in second and said following the event that it was a lot of fun as he fought with Alonso in the closing stages of the race.

Jan Magnusson finished the race in third place just ahead of former Jordan Grand Prix driver Tiago Monteiro while current NTT IndyCar Series driver Tony Kanaan who will start his final season in the sport in Texas in two weeks competing in the oval races only was 5th. The 2013 Indianapolis 500 winner finished the race just ahead of Darren Turner and Matt Brabham.

Former World Rally Champion Petter Solberg had a great race coming home in eight place just ahead of Scott Pruett and Tom Coronal who rounded out the top ten.

BTCC driver Jason Plato finished the race in eleventh place just ahead of Michael Jordain.

Three time Indianapolis 500 winner Dario Franchitti who still works with Chip Ganassi Racing as team driver advisor finished the race in 13th despite a major incident for the Scot.

Former IndyCar driver Max Papis who is now part of the permanent stewarding team with the NTT IndyCar Series finished the race in 14th just ahead of Emmanuel Pirro.

Oriol Servia was 16th just ahead of Bryan Herta while Mario Dominguiz was 18th.

Two time Indianapolis 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya was 19th just ahead of Andy Priaulx.

Former Formula One driver Mika Salo was 21st just ahead of two time Indianapolis 500 winner Emerson Fittipaldi.

Former Formula One driver Vitantonio Luizzi was 23rd just ahead of three time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves who is aiming to win his fourth 500 with Team Penske in August.

IndyCar legend and 1969 Indianapolis 500 winner Mario Andretti in his first I racing event came home in 25th just ahead of Adrian Fernandez who rounded out the order.

Share This