McLaren Honda Andretti driver Fernando Alonso ended the opening session fastest in the No.29 Honda.

The double Formula One champion set a fastest speed of 221.634mph ending the session just ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Oriol Servia in the No.16 Honda.

Dale Coyne Racing’s Ed Jones made it a Honda 1,2,3 while Jay Howard in the No.77 Honda for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports rounded out the top 4.

Sebastian Saaverda was fifth fastest for the new Juncos Racing team while Jack Harvey in thr No.50 for Michael Shank Racing with Andretti Autosport was sixth just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Zach Veach.

Takuma Sato was eighth fastest for Andretti Autosport just ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing’s Ed Carpenter and JR Hildebrand.

Carlos Munoz was 11th for AJ Foyt Racing just ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal while Spencer Pigot was 13th fastest in the No.11 Juncos Racing Chevrolet.

Share This