Andretti Autosport team owner Michael Andretti says that he expects to make changes to his NTT IndyCar Series driver line-up for the 2022 season but expects to continue as a four-car team.

Michael Andretti has been unhappy with teams performances in 2021 having only taken a single victory so far with Colton Herta having taken victory at the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg at the start of the 2021 season. The team has endured a challenging season with their drivers, seventh, 13th, 15th, and 20th in the driver’s standings.

Speaking to ahead of this weekend’s Honda Indy 200 at the Mid-Ohio Sportscar Course presented by HPD Ridgeline, Michael Andretti says that the team will have at least one if not two driver changes.

Colton Herta recently signed a new multi-year contract extension with Andretti Autosport while Alexander Rossi has a long-term contract with the team. James Hinchcliffe has a contract for next season however, Paddock Eye understands that the Mayor of HinchTown will be looking for a seat elsewhere and could be Genesys to the third Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda or he could potentially join an expanded Meyer Shank Racing team who Paddock Eye understands is set to expand to a two-car full-time IndyCar program in 2022.

While the full Andretti team has struggled this year, Andretti Technology-backed Meyer Shank Racing took their first IndyCar Series win last month at the Greatest Spectacle In Racing with Helio Castroneves having claimed his fourth Indianapolis 500 win.

There are seven races remaining in 2021, giving the team plenty of time to score at least one victory or a strong result. As to who could be in line to join Andretti Autosport, Kyle Kirkwood has been mooted as a potential driver for the team while Oliver Askew could be in line to make his full-time IndyCar Series return with Andretti Autosport as he is currently working as a driver coach for the Andretti Indy Lights team.

Stefan Wilson could be another driver in line for one of the seats at Andretti Autosport having competed in the Indianapolis 500.


Share This