James Hinchcliffe’s return to Andretti Autosport on a partial NTT IndyCar Series programme provides the Canadian with a fantastic opportunity.

The Mayor of HinchTown has the resources of Andretti Autosport to draw on and has five team mates that he will be working with this season.

Hinch has the added benefit of working with a team he knows extremely well having raced for Andretti Autosport from 2012 to 2014 in which time he won the 2013 season opening Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg, his first NTT IndyCar Series career win.

Hinch also won the Sao Paulo Indy 300 in 2013.

Andretti Autosport are one of the most successful teams and the Indianapolis 500 in recent years having won the Greatest Spectacle in Racing six times, with Jacques Villeneuve as Team Green in 1995.

The team known as Andretti Green Racing won the Indy 500 with Dan Wheldon in 2005 and Dario Franchitti in 2007.

The team now known as Andretti Autosport have won the race three times with Ryan Hunter Reay taking the No.28 DHL Honda to victory lane in 2014.

The team also won back to back races with Alexander Rossi claiming a historic debut win in the No.98 NAPA Auto Parts Honda, Takuma Sato in the No.26 Rouff Home Mortgages Honda took victory in 2017.

The team’s history and success at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway bodes well for Hinchcliffe for this year’s race.

For ticket information for the 104th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge on May 24 visit https://www.indianapolismotorspeedway.com/

Share This