Andretti Autosport’s Marco Andretti kicked off his 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series season by topping the timesheet’s with what he called

A good start

It was a great opening session for Chip Ganassi Racing team as Tony Kanaan in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda was second fastest with Scott Dixon in the No.9 GE LED Lighting Honda third fastest.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda was fourth fastest with a time of 01:04.3190s ending the session just ahead of reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Simon Pagenaud in the No.1 Team Penske PPG Automotive Refinish Chevrolet who rounded out the top five and was the leading Chevrolet powered car.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal in the No.15 Steak N’Shake Honda was sixth fastest just ahead of Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves in the No.3 Hitachi Chevrolet.

Charlie Kimball in the No.83 Tresiba® Honda was eighth fastest ending the session just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda. Max Chilton made it eight Honda powered cars in the top ten in the No.8 Gallagher Honda.

Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet for Team Penske was 11th fastest despite bringing out the red flag shortly after the start of the session as a result of hitting the wall at Turn 10 despite the impact the Australian was able to get the car back to pit-road and and remained in the car as the team carried out repairs.

Alexander Rossi in the No.98 NAPA Auto Parts Andretti Herta Autosport was 12th fastest just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais.

Spencer Pigot in the No.20 Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet was 14th fastest ending the session just ahead of Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Verizon Chevrolet who ended the morning session just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Takuma Sato.

Mikhail Aleshin in the No.7 SMP Racing Honda was 17th fastest just ahead of Sunoco Rookie Ed Jones in the No.19 Honda for Dale Coyne Racing.

Carlos Munoz was 19th in the No.14 ABC Supply Co Chevrolet for AJ Foyt Racing ending the session just ahead of JR Hildebrand in the No.21 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka Chevrolet for Ed Carpenter Racing. Conor Daly rounded out the order for AJ Foyt Racing in the No.4 ABC Supply Co Chevrolet.

Share This