Andretti Autosport had a flying start to their Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama presented by AmFirest weekend at Barber Motorsports Park as they had three cars in the top four with Colton Herta in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda leading the way with a 01:06.5149s ending up just ahead of defending champion and last year’s race winner Alex Palou in the No.10 American Legion Chip Ganassi Racing Honda who set a 01:06.5657s.

Alexander Rossi was third in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts AutoNation Honda with a time of 01:06.6657s and speaking to Paddock Eye following the action he said that following a tricky start to the season they hope to bring this momentum forward to the Month of May and into Sunday’s race.

Romain Grosjean was fourth fastest for Andretti Autosport with 01:06.7046s while Scott McLaughlin was the fastest Chevrolet for Team Penske with a time of 01:06.8705s.

Scott Dixon had a strong start to the weekend as the Iceman ended the session in sixth place in the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda with a time of 01:06.9251s while Pato O’Ward was seventh with a time of 01:06.9838s in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet.

Speaking to Paddock Eye following the action, Callum Ilott who was eighth fastest for Juncos Hollinger Racing said that the team managed to find a great baseline from the test a few weeks ago ending today’s action with a time of 01:07.0861s.

Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Honda was ninth with a 01:07.1012s while Rinus VeeKay did a great job in the No.21 SONAX ECR Chevrolet as he ended the day with a time of 01:07.1155s.

Jack Harvey in the No.45 Hy-Vee RLL Honda was 11th with a time of 01:07.1841s while Helio Castroneves in the No.06 Honda for Meyer Shank Racing was 12th with a time of 01:07.2293s. Felix Rosenqvist was 13th with a time of 01:07.3416s just ahead of Devlin DeFrancesco who set a time of 01:07.3817s.

Christian Lundgaard in the No.30 Shield Cleanser Honda was 15th with a time of 01:07.4004s just ahead of Will Power in the No.12 Verizon 5G Chevrolet with a time of 01:07.4132s.

Graham Rahal was 17th just ahead of Josef Newgarden and Conor Daly. Kyle Kirkwood in the No.14 ROKiT Chevrolet rounded out the top twenty just ahead of Simon Pagenaud with a time of 01:07.6916s while Takuma Sato was 22nd with a time of 01:07.7473s.

David Malukas was 23rd fastest with a time of 01:07.9687s just ahead of Dalton Kellett who set a time of 01:08.4288s while Jimmie Johnson and Tatiana Calderon rounded out the order.

Share This