Marco Andretti in the No.27 Snapple Honda set the fastest time in an eventful final practice session ahead of qualifying for the Verizon IndyCar Series season finale GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma. Andretti set a fastest time of 01:16.3052s ending the session just ahead of Juan Pablo Montoya in the No.2 Verizon Chevrolet.

Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda ended the session in third place with a 01:16.4339s ending up just ahead of title contender Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet.

Carlos Munoz was fifth fastest for Andretti Autosport with series points leader Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Hewlett Packard Enterprises Chevrolet in sixth place.

Indianapolis 500 winner Alexander Rossi ended a great morning for Andretti Autosport as he was seventh fastest in the No.98 Castrol EDGE/Curb Honda just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Jack Hawksworth.

Reigning series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 Target Chevrolet was 9th fastest while Charlie Kimball rounded out the top ten in the No.83 Tresiba® Chevrolet rounded out the top ten.

Helio Castroneves was 11th fastest in the No.3 Hitachi just ahead of Takuma Sato and Graham Rahal.

Tony Kanaan was 14th fastest just ahead of James Hinchcliffe in 15th and brought out the red flag at the end of the session after making contact with the wall coming out of the final turn damaging his front suspension.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports tweeted:

Contact with the wall in turn 11 for . The crew will now go to work trying to get the car ready for qualifying at 3:05pm PT.

Josef Newgarden who brought out a lengthy red flag after damaging his No.21 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka Chevrolet was 16th fastest but speaking following the session he was confident of getting the car fixed for qualifying.

Mikhail Aleshin was 17th fastest in the No.7 SMP Racing Honda ending the session just ahead of Spencer Pigot in the No.20 Samsung/Fuzzy’s Vodka/ECR Chevrolet.

RC Enerson was 19th fastest for Dale Coyne Racing just ahead of Sebastien Bourdais while Max Chilton and Conor Daly rounded out the order in 21st and 22nd place respectively. Qualifying for the final race of the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series season gets underway at 6PM ET


Share This