The GMR Grand Prix of Indianapolis takes place on Saturday at the IMS road course. The race began in 2014 and is the curtain raiser for May.

The drivers will have the following Push-to-pass parameters: NTT INDYCAR SERIES: 200 seconds of total time, with a maximum time of 20 seconds per activation.

Firestone tire allotment (NTT INDYCAR SERIES): Six sets primary, four sets alternate. One additional set is available to rookie drivers for use in the Friday practice session.


Instagram: @indianapolismotorspeedway, @indycar, @indynxt, #ThisIsMay, #INDYCAR

Facebook: @IndianapolisMotorSpeedway, @INDYCAR, @INDYNXT, #ThisIsMay, #INDYCAR



Event website:

NTT INDYCAR SERIES website: | INDY NXT by Firestone

2022 race winners:


Colton Herta (No. 26 Gainbridge Honda)

INDY NXT by Firestone

Danial Frost (No. 68 HMD Motorsports), Linus Lundqvist (No. 26 HMD Motorsports)

2022 NTT P1 Award winner (NTT INDYCAR SERIES): Will Power (No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet), 1 minute, 9.7664 seconds, 125.854 mph

2022 INDY NXT by Firestone pole winners: Linus Lundqvist (No. 26 HMD Motorsports) 1:16.3362, 115.023 mph (race one), Lundqvist 1:16.4266, 114.887 (race two)

Qualifying records:


Will Power, 1:07.7044, 129.687 mph, May 12, 2017 (Set in Round 3 of knockout qualifying)

INDY NXT by Firestone

Ed Jones, 1:14.6743, 117.583 mph, May 13, 2016

NBC Sports race telecast: 3:30 p.m. ET Saturday, May 13, NBC (live). Leigh Diffey is the play-by-play announcer for NBC’s coverage of the NTT INDYCAR SERIES, alongside analysts Townsend Bell and James Hinchcliffe.

Peacock live streaming: All NTT INDYCAR SERIES practice sessions and qualifying will stream live on Peacock, NBC’s direct-to-consumer livestreaming product. NBC’s GMR Grand Prix race telecast will be simulcast on the streaming service. The INDY NXT by Firestone Grand Prix will be streamed live on Peacock with practice and qualifying shown on INDYCAR LIVE.

INDYCAR Radio Network broadcasts: Mark Jaynes is the anchor alongside driver analyst Davey Hamilton. Jake Query, Nick Yeoman and Michael Young are the turn announcers. Ryan Myrehn and Rob Blackman are the pit reporters. The GMR Grand Prix race (3 p.m. ET), INDY NXT by Firestone Grand Prix (12:55 p.m. ET Saturday) and all NTT INDYCAR SERIES and INDY NXT by Firestone practices and qualifying sessions air live on network affiliates, SiriusXM 160, and the INDYCAR App powered by NTT DATA.

At-track schedule (all times local):

FRIDAY, MAY 12 (All times are local)

9:30-10:45 a.m. NTT INDYCAR SERIES practice (75 minutes), Peacock

11-11:50 a.m. INDY NXT by Firestone practice, INDYCAR LIVE

1-2 p.m. NTT INDYCAR SERIES practice (45 minutes), Peacock

2:20-2:40 p.m. INDY NXT by Firestone qualifying, INDYCAR LIVE

4 p.m. Qualifying for the NTT P1 Award (three rounds of NTT INDYCAR SERIES knockout qualifications), Peacock


11:15-11:45 a.m. NTT INDYCAR SERIES warmup, Peacock

1:05 p.m. INDY NXT by Firestone Grand Prix “Drivers, start your engines.”

1:10 p.m. INDY NXT by Firestone Grand Prix (35 laps/55 minutes), Peacock

3:30 p.m. NBC on air

3:39 p.m. “Drivers, start your engines.”

3:45 p.m. GMR Grand Prix (85 laps/207.3 miles), NBC (Live)

There have been four winners in the first four races of the 2023 NTT INDYCAR SERIES.

Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg – Marcus Ericsson – No.8 Huski Chocolate Chip Ganassi Racing Honda

PPG375 at Texas Motor Speedway – Josef Newgarden – No.2 PPG Team Penske Chevrolet

Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach – Kyle Kirkwood – No.27 AutoNation Andretti Autosport Honda

Children’s of Alabama Indy Grand Prix at Barber Motorsports Park – Scott McLaughlin – No.3 Good Rancher’s Team Penske Chevrolet.

Share This