The 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series season may have just finished by already the focus is on 2017.

Testing for the 2017 season will be available from Monday October 3. There is a lot that needs to be resolved before next season so, let’s have a look at what we know so far in relation to driver line-ups.

Team Penske 

1 Simon Pagenaud – CONFIRMED

3 Helio Castroneves – CONFIRMED

12 Will Power – CONFIRMED

2 Josef Newgarden? Juan Pablo Montoya? Alexander Rossi? TBC

Chip Ganassi Racing

9 Scott Dixon – CONFIRMED

10 Tony Kanaan? Juan Pablo Montoya? TBC

8 Max Chilton TBC

83 Charlie Kimball TBC

It also remains to be seen who will replace Target as the primary sponsor to the No.9 car.

Andretti Autosport

26 Carlos Munoz TBC – Waiting on sponsorship to be put in place

27 Marco Andretti – CONFIRMED

28 Ryan Hunter Reay – CONFIRMED

Bryan Herta Autosport 98 Alexander Rossi TBC – Waiting on a final sponsorship deal to fall into place

Ed Carpenter Racing

20 Ed Carpenter – CONFIRMED, Spencer Pigot TBC

21 Josef Newgarden, Juan Pablo Montoya TBC

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

15 Graham Rahal – CONFIRMED

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing may run a second car if they can get the sponsorship in place and sign an experienced driver

KVSH Racing 

11 Sebastien Bourdais – TBC There is a big question mark on the future of this team with plenty of rumors swirling around.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports

5 James Hinchcliffe – CONFIRMED

7 Mikhail Aleshin – Likely to stay

Dale Coyne Racing

18 Conor Daly – TBC/ Sebastian Bourdais possible

19 RC Enerson – TBC


Share This