Defending Indianapolis 500 winner Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 DXC Technology Chevrolet took his second win in a row to become the first repeat winner in the inaugural NTT IndyCar Series iRacing Challenge at Twin Ring Motegi in the Firestone 175.

The Frenchman said he having a lot of fun and that it always a pleasure to race alongside Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda who finished second.

Will Power in the No.12 Team Penske Verizon Chevrolet was third just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing. Pole sitter Robert Wickens in the No.6 Lucas Oil Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet came home in fifth place just ahead of Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda for Meyer Shank Racing.

Dreyer and Reinbold Racing’s Sage Karam in the No.24 Wix Filters Chevrolet ended the race in seventh coming from 31st to the top ten just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Zach Veach in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda.

Santino Ferrucci in the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda was 9th for Dale Coyne with Vasser Sullivan Racing while Graham Rahal in the No.15 Fifth Third Bank Honda rounded out the top ten for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

It was a great race for Ed Carpenter Racing’s Conor Daly in the No.20 US Air Force Chevrolet as he came home in 11th place just ahead of first time NTT IndyCar Series iRacing Challenge participate Takuma Sato in the No.30 Panasonic/Keihin Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

Kyle Busch finished his first NTT IndyCar Series iRacing Challenge event in 13th place just ahead of Felix Rosenqvist in the No.51 Rowdy Energy Dallara.

Defending NTT IndyCar Series champion Josef Newgarden in the No.1 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet finished the race in 15th place just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda.

Ed Carpenter in the No.50 Direct Supply Chevrolet was 17th just ahead of Harding Steinbrenner Racing’s Colton Herta in the No.88 Capstone Honda.

AJ Foyt Racing’s Dalton Kellett in the No.41 K Line Insulators Chevrolet was 19th just ahead of his team mate Sebastien Bourdais in the No.4 Tresiba Chevrolet who rounded out the top 20. It was a dramatic end to the race with Scott McLaughlin colliding with his team mate Will Power and Arrow McLaren SP’s Oliver Askew in the No.7 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet who ended the race in 21st place just ahead of Dale Coyne with Team Goh driver Alex Palou in the No.55 Honda.

In his first NTT IndyCar Series iRacing Challenge event, Rinus Veekay in the No.21 Sonax Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet hit the wall and spun on entry into pit road and finished in 23rd place.

Scott McLaughlin was the No.2 Shell V Power Team Penske Chevrolet was 24th despite fighting for the lead late in the race. Marco Andretti in the No.98 Oberto Honda was 25th just ahead of Arrow McLaren SP’s Patricio O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet.

Kyle Kaiser was 27th for Junos Racing just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda.

In his first NTT IndyCar Series iRacing Challenge event Helio Castroneves ended the race in 29th place in the No.3 Pennzoil Team Penske Chevrolet. Tony Kanaan in the No.14 7-ELEVEN Chevrolet for AJ Foyt Racing and Carlin Racing’s Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet along with his team mate Felipe Nasr in the No.31 Chevrolet retired from the race.

There was disappointment for Andretti Autosport’s James Hinchcliffe in the No.29 Genesys Honda as for the second race this season the Mayor of HinchTown was unable to start the race.


Share This