Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Hum by Verizon Chevrolet is the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series champion sfter finishing the race in second place.

2016 champion Simon Pagenaud in the No.1 DXC Technology Chevrolet won the race ahead of Newgarden while Will Power gave the Captain a podium sweep.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 NTT DATA Honda ended the season as the top Honda driver in the race in fourth and the championship in fourth.

Speaking following the race, Newgarden said it is so cool, it’s awesome. It’s been phenomenal, a dream come true, too awesome.

In what may have been his last season with Penske, Helio Castroneves finished the race in fifth place just ahead of Graham Rahal who finished the race in sixth place.

Marco Andretti was seventh just ahead of team mate Ryan Hunter Reay. Dale Coyne Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais ended the race in ninth while Conor Daly rounded out the top ten.

Charlie Kimball and Max Chilton finished the race in 11th and 12th respectively for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot and JR Hildebrand finished the event in 13th and 14th.

AJ Foyt Racing’s Carlos Munoz finished the race in 15th place just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Tony Kanaan.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Zachary Claman DeMelo was classified in 17th place just ahead of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Jack Harvey and Dale Coyne Racing’s Ed Jones.

Takuma Sato was classified in 20th place just ahead of his team mate Alexander Rossi while James Hinchcliffe was 22nd for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

Share This