Defending Formula One world champion Lewis Hamilton took his eighth Australian Grand Prix pole position in Albert Park Melbourne on Saturday in a case of business as usual for the Englishman and his Mercedes AMG PETRONAS F1 Team.

The five time world champion set a fastest time of 01:20.486s and starts the race just ahead of his team mate Valtteri Bottas.

Scuderia Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel was third fastest just ahead of Max Verstappen in the Honda powered RB15 with a fastest time of 01:21.320s.

In his first qualifying for the Italian team, Charles Leclerc was fifth fastest for Ferrari with a time of 01:21.442s.

The Rich Energy Haas F1 Team’s Romain Grosjean was sixth fastest just ahead of his team Kevin Magnussen.

McLaren Renault’s Lando Norris was the star of the session in his very first F1 qualifying as he will start Sunday’s race from eighth place with a time of 01:22.304s.

Alfa Romeo Racing’s Kimi Raikkonen starts the race from ninth place while SportPesa Racing Point F1 Team’s Sergio Checo Perez rounded out the top ten.

The Renault F1 Team’s Nico Hulkenberg and his team mate Daniel Ricciardo will start the race from just outside the top ten in eleventh and 12th respectively giving them free tyre choice for the race.

Scuderia Toro Rosso’s Alex Albon starts his very first Grand Prix from 13th place.

Antonio on his return to Formula One starts the race from 14th place for Alfa Romeo Racing.

Daniil Kvyat starts the race from 15th place for Scuderia Toro Rosso.

Lance Stroll starts his first race for SportPesa Racing Point F1 Team from 16th place just ahead of Aston Martin Red Bull Racing’s Pierre Gasly.

Carlos Sainz starts the race from 18th place in his first race for McLaren Renault.

Rokit Williams Racing start the race from the back of the grid in 19th for George Russell who makes his Formula One debut on Sunday.

Robert Kubica makes his full time return to Formula One forcthe first time since 2010 and starts the race in 20th place.

Share This