Carlin Motorsports will continue to compete in the Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires, the feeder category to the Verizon IndyCar Series in 2017.

Trevor Carlin had been in talks with KVSH Racing about bringing Mikhail Aleshin and SMP Racing over from Schmidt Peterson Motorsports for the 2017 season which gets underway from March 10-12 with the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg however talks between Carlin and KVSH Racing’s co-owners Kevin Kolkohoven and Jimmy Vasser broke down resulting in the closure of the team.

Carlin’s Indy Lights champion Ed Jones has made the step up to the Verizon IndyCar Series with Dale Coyne Racing alongside Sebastien Bourdais who joins Coyne from KVSH Racing. It is unclear if Carlin will attempt to put an entry together for the 101st running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil or if he will focus on entering the Verizon IndyCar Series as a team owner in 2018.

Carlin entered the Indy Lights championship in 2015 with Max Chilton moving from Formula One to the US and winning the Indy Lights championship, moving to Chip Ganassi Racing in 2016.

Share This