P1 Award winner Helio Castroneves set the fastest time in his No.3 REV Team Penske Chevrolet in Friday’s final Verizon IndyCar Series practice session ahead of tomorrow’s Desert Diamond West Valley Phoenix Grand Prix at Phoenix International Raceway.

Castroneves set a fastest time of 0.19.7495s to end the session just ahead of team mate and points leader Juan Pablo Montoya in the No.2 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Josef Newgarden continued his strong form from throughout the day by ending the final practice session in third place in the No.21 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka Chevrolet ending up just ahead of Scott Dixon’s No.9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Team Chevrolet while Simon Pagenaud ended the session in fifth place for Team Penske.

Tony Kanaan in the No.10 GE Light LED Chip Ganassi Racing Team Chevrolet who start the race from the front ended the practice session in sixth place just ahead of Ed Carpenter in the No.20 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka Chevrolet showing that ECR have a competitive car this weekend.

Max Chilton was eighth fastest for Chip Ganassi Racing ending the session just ahead of 2014 series champion Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet while Charlie Kimball rounded out the top ten in the No.83 Tresiba® Chip Ganassi Racing Team Chevrolet.

Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda was 11th fastest ending the session just ahead of James Hinchcliffe who got some valuable track time in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda after missing out on qualifying.

Graham Rahal in the No.15 Steak N’Shake Honda completed the most number of laps during the session, the Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Team driver completed a marathon 59 laps ending the session in 13th place just ahead of KVSH Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais.

Marco Andretti was 15th fastest in the No.27 United Fibers & Data/Snapple Honda with Mikhail Aleshin ending the session in 16th place in the No.7 SPM Racing Honda.

Conor Daly was 17th fastest in the No.18 Jonathan Byrd’s Hospitality and Restaurant Group Honda. Alexander Rossi was 18th fastest in the No.98 Andretti Herta Curb Honda just ahead of his team mate Carlos Munoz in the No.26 Honda.

Luca Filippi and Jack Hawksworth rounded out the order in 20th and 21st place respectively for Dale Coyne Racing and AJ Foyt Racing. Takuma Sato was the only driver who failed to set a time following his accident during this morning session.

Share This