Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves in the No.3 Hitachi Chevrolet ended the opening practice session for the GoPro Grand Prix at Sonoma Raceway fastest setting a time of 01:17.3298s ending the morning just ahead of Marco Andretti in the No.27 Snapple Honda for Andretti Autosport.

Graham Rahal in the No.15 Steak N’ Shake Honda was third fastest with a time of 01:17.4976s ending the session just ahead of Jack Hawksworth in the No.41 ABC Supply Honda for AJ Foyt Racing.

Ryan Hunter Reay was fifth fastest in the No.28 DHL Honda ending the session just ahead of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Mikhail Aleshin in the No.7 SMP Racing Honda, the Russian brought out the only caution of the session following a small spin but kept the car going.

Josef Newgarden in the No.21 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka Chevrolet ended the session in seventh place with a fastest time of 01:17.6386s with Takuma Sato in eighth place.

James Hinchcliffe was ninth fastest in the No.5 Arrow Honda for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports setting a fastest time of 01:17.8078s with series points leader and championship contender Simon Pagenaud rounding out the top ten in the No.22 Hewlett Packard Enterprises Chevrolet.

Indianapolis 500 winner Alexander Rossi was 11th fastest in the No.98 Castrol/EDGE Bryan Herta Autosport Honda.

Juan Pablo Montoya in the No.2 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet ended the session in 12th place just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Tony Kanaan in the No.10 NTT DATA Chevrolet who set a fastest time of 01:17.9561s and ended the session just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s RC Enerson who set the 14th fastest time with a 01:17.9777s.

Charlie Kimball who celebrates his 100th Verizon IndyCar Series start this weekend ended the session in 15th place in the No.83 Tresiba® Chevrolet.

Sebastien Bourdais was 16th fastest for KVSH Racing while title contender Will Power was 17th fastest in the No.12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet. Reigning series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 Target Chevrolet ended the session in 18th place.

Spencer Pigot was 19th fastest in the No.20 Samsung/Fuzzy’s Vodka ECR Chevrolet just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Carlos Munoz with Max Chilton in the No.8 Gallagher Chevrolet 21st.

Conor Daly rounded out the order in 22nd place for Dale Coyne Racing setting a time of 01:19.1439s in the No.18 Jonathan Byrd’s Hospitality and Restaurant Group Honda.

Share This