Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves in the No.3 Pennzoil Chevrolet led the opening day of practice at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway ahead of next weekend’s 102nd running of the Indianapolis 500. The three time Indianapolis 500 winner set a fastest speed of 224.665MPH.

Ed Carpenter was second fastest in the No.20 Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet with a speed of 224.523MPH while Schmidt Peterson Motorsports with AFS Racing Honda’s Jay Howard was the fastest Honda driver of the day with a 224.518MPH.

It was a great day for Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda as the 2008 Indianapolis 500 winner and last years pole sitter ended the session in fourth place with a fastest speed of 224.353MPH. Marco Andretti was fifth fastest for Bryan Herta Autosport while Sage Karam was sixth for Dreyer & Reinbold Racing.

It was a great day for Charlie Kimball and Carlin Racing as the Californian ended the day in seventh place in the No.23 Fiasp Chevrolet.

Harding Racing’s Gabby Chaves in the No.88 Harding Group Chevrolet had a great opening session as the Colombian ended the day with the eighth fastest speed of 223.640MPH ending up just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Zach Veach in the No.26 Group One Thousand One Honda and Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda who rounded out the top ten.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot in the No.21 Preferred Freezer Services Chevrolet was 11th just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing/Jonathan Bryd with Belardi Auto Racing’s James Davison in the No.33 Chevrolet.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Takuma Sato in the No.30 MiJack/Panasonic Honda ended the day in 13th place despite pulling onto the road course just before the end of the session with a suspected mechanical issue. It was the only issue that occurred during the opening day on track activity.

Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet ended the day in 14th place just ahead of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Robert Wickens in the No.6 Lucas Oil Honda.

Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 SealMaster Honda ended the day in 16th place just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Ed Jones in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda. Danica Patrick, who at one point had the fastest speed on day 1 without a tow ended the day in 18th place for Ed Carpenter Racing in the No.13 Chevrolet. Patrick set a speed of 222.728MPH.

Andretti Autosport’s Carlos Munoz was 19th just ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Verizon IndyCar Series veteran Oriol Servia.

Andretti Autosport’s Stefan Wilson was 21st fastest in the No.25 Driven2SaveLives Honda. Team Penske’s IndyCar Grand Prix of Indianapolis race winner Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet ended the session in 22nd place just ahead of 2016 Indianapolis 500 winner Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda for Andretti Autosport.

Dreyer & Reinbold’s JR Hildebrand ended the day in 23rd place just ahead of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda.

Defending series champion and current Verizon IndyCar Series points leader Josef Newgarden in the No.1 Verizon Chevrolet ended the day in 25th place with a speed of 221.852MPH.

Graham Rahal was 27th fastest in the No.15 United Rentals Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing ending the day just ahead of Meyer/Shank with SPM Racing’s Jack Harvey.

AJ Foyt Racing’s Tony Kanaan in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet ended the session in 29th place with a speed of 221.412MPH. The Brazilian ended the day just ahead of Carlin Racing’s Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet.

Dale Coyne Racing’s Zachary Claman DeMelo who is making his debut Indianapolis 500 appearance next weekend was 31st fastest in the No.19 Paysafe Honda.

Juncos Racing’s Kyle Kaiser ended the day in 32 place in the No.32 Chevrolet. Conor Daly was 33rd fastest in the No.17 United States Air Force Honda for Dale Coyne Racing ending the day just ahead of his team mate Pippa Mann. Matheus ‘Matt’ Leist rounded out the order in 35th place for AJ Foyt Racing. Testing continues tomorrow.

Share This