Helio Castroneves in the No.3 REV Team Penske Chevrolet will start tomorrow’s Desert Diamond West Valley Phoenix Grand Prix at Phoenix International Raceway from pole position after setting a two lap average of 192.324mph.

The No.10 GE LIGHT LED Chip Ganassi Racing Team Chevrolet machine of Tony Kanaan will start on the race from the front row alongside Castroneves.

Juan Pablo Montoya in the No.2 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet starts the race from third place alongside Charlie Kimball with Ed Carpenter in the No.20 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka Chevrolet starting the race from fifth place having led an Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet 1-2 in practice this morning.

Reigning series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Team Chevrolet will start tomorrow night’s race from 6th place just ahead of Josef Newgarden in the No.21 Ed Carpenter Racing Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet.

Max Chilton, making his IndyCar oval racing debut this weekend will start the race from eighth place in the No.8 Gallagher Chip Ganassi Racing Team Chevrolet.

Will Power will start the race from ninth place in the No.12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet while his team mate Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 DevilBliss Team Penske Chevrolet rounds out the top ten.

Marco Andretti is the leading Andretti Autosport driver as he will start the race in the No.27 United Fibers Data Honda from 11th place just ahead of his team mate Ryan Hunter Reay in he No.28 DHL Honda. Mikhail Aleshin in the No.7 SPM Racing Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda will start the race from 13th place following a two lap average of 187.998mph.

Alexander Rossi in the No.98 Bryan Herta Autosport Castrol Edge Honda will start his first oval race from 14th place just ahead of KVSH Racing’s No.11 Team Hydrocut Chevrolet of Sebastien Bourdais.

Luca Filippi starts the race from 16th place just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Jack Hawksworth. Conor Daly in the No.18 Dale Coyne Racing Honda starts the race from 18th just ahead of Graham Rahal in the No.15 Steak N’Shake Honda following a disappointing qualifying for the Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Team.

Carlos Munoz will start the race from 20th place following a heavy crash at Turn 2, the third driver to do so today, the Andretti Autosport pilot suffered some soft tissue damage to his knees but was cleared by the infield medical team and will start tomorrows race.

AJ Foyt Racing’s Takuma Sato and Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe round out the order in 21st and 22nd respectively following their accidents earlier today which meant neither driver took part in qualifying. The second practice session gets underway here under lights later tonight.


Share This