Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves took the Verizon P1 Award for Sunday’s Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach, driving the No.3 AAA Insurance Chevrolet set the track record with a time of 01:06.2254s and is joined on the front row by Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 NTT DATA Honda.

Ryan Hunter Reay made it three teams in the top three as he will start from third place in the No.28 DHL Honda and will start the race just ahead of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Honda. The Canadian was a little mad with himself as he made a bit of a mistake at Turn 5. Hinch suffered a gearbox issue in practice this morning so fourth place is a great starting position following a tough morning.

Indianapolis 500 winner Alexander Rossi made it two Andretti Autosport cars in the Firestone Fast Six as he will start the race from fifth place in the No.98 NAPA Auto Parts Andretti Herta Autosport Honda and will start the race just ahead of Graham Rahal in the No.15 PennGrade Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

Charlie Kimball just missed out on a place in the Firestone Fast Six and starts the race from seventh place in the No.83 Tresiba Honda.

Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Hum Team Penske Chevrolet will start the race from eighth place just ahead of his team mate Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet while Marco Andretti rounded out the top ten for Andretti Autosport in the No.27 UFD Honda.

Tony Kanaan in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing starts the race from just outside the top ten in 11th place just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg race winner Sebastien Bourdais. It was a great session for Verizon IndyCar Series rookie Ed Jones in the second Dale Coyne Racing Honda as he starts the race from 13th place just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Carlos Munoz.

JR Hildebrand in the No.21 Preferred Freezer Chevrolet starts the race from 15th place just ahead of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Mikhail Aleshin in the No.7 SMP Racing Honda.

Conor Daly in the No.4 ABC Supply Co AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet starts the race from 17th place just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Takuma Sato. Spencer Pigot starts the race from 19th place in the No.20 Loki sponsored Chevrolet for Ed Carpenter Racing.

Max Chilton starts the race from 20th place in the No.8 Gallagher Honda while reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Simon Pagenaud, driving the No.1 Menards Team Penske Chevrolet had a disastrous session as the Frenchman rounds out the order in 21st place.

Share This