A lot has changed in the world since the first running of the Indianapolis 500 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. We have the internet, smartphones, satellite TV, hybrid cars, but that thing that has stayed the same is the smell of burning rubber every May at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

On May 29 2016, history will be made at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway as a once in a life time event will take place as the most famous words in motorsport will echo around the brickyard

Ladies and Gentlemen, start your engines.

This year is not only the historic running of the most famous motor race in the world but it will also be the first time that the race is ‘presented by’ as never before has the Indianapolis 500 had a presentation partner.

The first female driver to compete in the Indianapolis 500 was Janet Gutherie who returned to Indianapolis to qualify for the iconic race in 1977 having failed to get on the grid in 1976.

The most successful female driver at the Indianapolis 500 is Danica Patrick who led the race for Rahal Letteman Lanigan Racing on her first trip to the circuit in 2005 where she qualified for the race in fourth place and finished the race in fourth.

Patrick’s best finish at the Brickyard came in 2009 when driving for Andretti Green Racing she finished on the podium in third place behind race winner Helio Castroneves and Dan Wheldon.

In 2016, at least two female drivers will line up on the grid for the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil, with Pippa Mann and Katherine Legge both aiming to be in the 33 car field for the race.

Danica Patrick is in the record books as the only driver to have led laps at both the Indianapolis 500 and at the Daytona 500.

Plenty of famous faces grace the Borg Warner, Al Unser, Dario Franchitti, Scott Dixon, AJ Foyt, Dan Wheldon, Tony Kanaan, Mario Andretti, Jacques Villenuvue, Arie Lyndck, Helio Castroneves and Juan Pablo Montoya to name but a few.

The Indianapolis 500 is one of the races along with the Monaco Grand Prix and the Le Mans 24 Hours that every racing driver wants to win.

Share This