Team Penske President Tim Cindric celebrated 20 years with the organisation this week. The American’s first Indianapolis 500 was in 2001 when Helio Castroneves in the race as a rookie. The win was Cindric’s first and Roger Penske’s tenth.

In 2002 Cindric saw Helio Castroneves win his second successive Indianapolis 500 while zsam Hirnish Junior won his second consecutive IndyCar championship.

In 2003, Team Penske finished 1-2 in the Indianapolis 500 with Gil De Ferran coming home ahead of fellow Brazilian and team Helio Castroneves. The 2004 season saw the team take just two wins with Helio Castroneves winning the season ending race in Texas while Sam Hornish won the season opening Homestead Miami Grand Prix.

In 2005 Hornish and Castroneves took three wins between them in Phoenix, Milwaukee and Richmond. In 2006 Sam Hornish took four victories on his way to winning his third championship and also victory in the Indianapolis 500. Helio Castroneves also took four victories.

In 2007 Team Penske took two victories at the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg for Helio Castroneves and in Texas for Sam Hornish Jr.

The 2008 season saw Australian Ryan Briscoe join Helio Castroneves at Team Penske with Briscoe taking three wins in Surfers Paradise, Mid Ohio and Milwaukee. Helio Castroneves took victories in Sonoma and Chicagoland Speedway.

The 2009 season saw Will Power join Team Penske in place of Helio Castroneves while the Brazilian faced trial for tax evasion. During the season the three drivers scored six wins including the Indianapolis 500 won by Helio Castroneves.

In 2010 Team Penske expanded to a three car full time programme with Will Power joining the team full time alongside Helio Castroneves and Ryan Briscoe. Power took victory in the opening two races with Castronesves winning in  Barber Motorsports Park, round 3 of the season.

Ryan Briscoe won in Texas while Power won on Watkins Glen. The Australian also won the following race in Toronto and in Sonoma.

Helio Castroneves won at Chicagoland Speedway and in Kentucky. In 2011, Will Power took six wins on his way to second place in the NTT IndyCar Series championship.

In 2012, Castroneves, Power and Briscoe scored six wins between them. Tim Cindric has been instrumental in Team Penske’s success most recently helping Josef Newgarden score his second championship win in two three years having also won it in 2017.

The team also won back to back Indianapolis 500’s with Will Power winning in 2018 while Simon Pagenaud won it this year.

Share This