The 2021 NTT IndyCar Series season is one of celebration for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing as the Brownsburg, Indiana based outfit embark on a year of celebration commemorating 30 years since they made their CART debut with team co owner, and 1986 Indianapolis 500 winner Bobby Rahal as Rahal Hogan Racing their very first win in only their second race in Phoenix. The team went on to win in Detroit, New Hampshire and Nazareth to claim their first championship as a team and Rahal’s third as a driver.

In 1996 with the arrival of late night talk show legend David Letterman as co-owner the outfit became Team Rahal with Letterman adding his name to the team in 2004, the same year they won the Indianapolis 500 for the first time with Buddy Rice.

The 2005 NTT IndyCar Series season was a very special one for the team as they gave Danica Patrick her debut in IndyCar and not only that she made history in the Indianapolis 500 that May as she became the first female driver to lead laps of the Indianapolis 500 and not only that but she also claimed the 2005 Indianapolis 500 rookie of the year award.

The team became Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing in 2011 with arrival of businessman Mike Lanigan. The 2020 NTT IndyCar Series season was an extremely successful season for the team as Takuma Sato took victory in the 104th running of the Indianapolis 500 while Graham Rahal finished the race in third place.

Speaking about his team’s achievements, Bobby Rahal commented saying:

I’ve got to say that when we started out in the fall of 1991, I never imagined that here we would be 30 years later.  It has been an interesting 30 years – a lot of ups and a few downs which is part of racing. There were so many great experiences and relationships built over the years. Personally, I have been very fortunate that I have been able to segue from being a driver into being an owner/driver and now just an owner. It has been a lot of work but I have been fortunate over the years to have a loyal support system. Our 30 years is really a story of all the people like Scott Roembke, Tim Cindric, guys like Jim Prescott and Clay Filson, who have been with me through the entire period and many others that contributed to Rahal/ Hogan, Team Rahal, Rahal Letterman Racing and now Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing. It’s been a great 30 years and I am very proud of that. There aren’t many people who manage to make it 30 years in this sport, let alone more. And we’re on our way to our 40th year. We have a lot to be excited about and proud of, going forward.”

Team co-owner David Letterman commented saying:

In the world of motor sports, there is no one luckier than I am.  My association with Bobby, Mike and the entire RLL organization has been a true blessing.  Irrespective of the pursuit, this is the team you want.  I can’t thank these men and women enough for their hard work, dedication and friendship.   Since becoming a part of the organization in 1996, there has never been a moment that I have not been flattered by my association with Bobby Rahal.  As a native Hoosier, I could never believe winning twice at Indianapolis and twice at Daytona would be part of my life.  Congratulations on 30 years of racing, and many great seasons to come.  All credit to the team.”

Team co-owner Mike Lanigan commented on the milestone saying:

I am very proud to have been working with Bobby and David for over 10 years now. They both have the same philosophy as I have regarding the business side as well as their commitment to winning. Our team has grown over the years and the new shop illustrates our commitment to excel.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing in partnership with BMW also field a team in the IMSA WeatherTech Sportscar Championship and throughout the year the team will host special memories on their social media as well as special celebratory events over over the course of the year.

The team have also begun construction on a brand new purpose build headquarters in Zionsville, Indiana, near Indianapolis which will be a 115,000 sq ft race shop built on 13 acres where the team will consolidate their NTT IndyCar Series programme and the IMSA WeatherTech Sportscar team. The new facility is due for completion and to be operational in early 2022.

Share This