Sunday’s 108th running the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway sees Chevrolet-powered Team Penske lock out the front row for the first time since 1988.

This year, Chevrolet are aiming for the 13th Indianapolis 500 victory since 1988 when Rick Mears, than driving for Team Penske took victory in the Greatest Spectacle In Racing.

Chevrolet has 16 cars entered in Sunday’s race and Scott McLaughlin in the No.3 Pennzoil Team Penske Chevrolet scored his maiden Indianapolis 500 pole position last Sunday and Chevrolet have nine if their 16 cars in the top twelve.

Speaking in advance of Sunday’s race, Mark Stielow Director of Motorsports Competition Programs with Chevrolet commented:

“After two days of intense but successful qualifying with all 16 Chevy-powered cars in the Indianapolis 500 field, we are now focused on Sunday’s race. “We have one more practice on Friday to go through all of the race engine processes to ensure optimum performance for the driver and their team on race day.

“Every year, before the race season begins on track, our Chevrolet engineering team sets goals for the year. “Winning the Indianapolis 500 is one of our primary goals. Our Chevrolet engineering group has worked tirelessly with our teams to give the Team Chevy drivers their best opportunity to win the biggest race in the world. Thank you to our partners at Ilmor for the lock-step collaboration to continue to maximize our engine performance in an effort to reach the ultimate goal. The Borg Warner Trophy is the one we want to see awarded to a Chevrolet driver, not to mention the Corvette E-Ray pace car. We are well prepared and ready for ‘Drivers Start Your Engine’ on Sunday.”

Share This