Chevrolet were crowned NTT INDYCAR SERIES Manufacturers champions for the second year in a row at the season-ending Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca on Sunday.

The Bow Tie scored the championship with five race wins during the season all of which came from Team Pemske, with Josef Newgarden winning four races including the Indianapolis 500 while Scott McLaughlin scored one victory.

Chevrolet were extremely consistent during the year and it was their seventh championship win since returning to INDYCAR in 2012.

Speaking following the action on Sunday, Jim Campbell, U.S VP of Performance and Motorsport said:

It is an honor to receive the 2023 INDYCAR Manufacturer Championship trophy on behalf of Chevrolet.


“This championship is a result of teamwork, preparation, and execution on track throughout the season. Thanks to our powertrain engineers, our technical partners at Ilmor and our race teams, including Team Penske, Ed Carpenter Racing, Arrow McLaren, AJ Foyt Racing, Juncos Hollinger Racing and Paretta Autosport for their combined efforts that resulted in delivering our eighth championship since 2012.”

Share This