Verizon IndyCar Series engine manufacturer Chevrolet have been crowned the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series manufacturer champions at Sonoma Raceway ahead of qualifying for the season ending GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma.

Chevrolet took the title for the sixth consecutive season despite being outnumbered with teams by fellow engine supplier Honda.

Chevrolet’s Director of Motorsports competition, Mark Kent commented by saying:

Although we were outnumbered on the track in quantity, we had the quality needed to win the races and poles required to win the championship. “It’s an accomplishment we’re very proud of.

“Chevrolet races to win. We race to win key races and we race to win championships. Every year, that’s our goal. We know eventually when you’re on the top, you get knocked off, but our goal is to stay on top as long as we possibly can.

In 2017, Chevrolet provided engines to Team Penske, Ed Carpenter Racing and AJ Foyt Racing while also supplying Harding Racing and Juncos Racing for the 101st running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil in May.

Speaking to, Kent went on to say:

It’s the result of tremendous teamwork, not only with our race teams but our technical partners at Ilmor, Pratt & Miller Engineering and Hitachi Automotive Systems. They work together very hard.

“The most exciting thing about this year is once again every one of our teams contributed to this championship,” Kent said. “It reinforces the strength of our team. Team Penske, AJ Foyt Racing and Ed Carpenter Racing, all three of them contributed.

Chevrolet are in the hunt for the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series drivers championship with Team Penske as ‘The Captain’s four drivers, Josef Newgarden, Simon Pagenaud, Helio Castroneves and Will Power are battling the Honda powered Chip Ganassi Racing team driver Scott Dixon in the No.9 NTT DATA Honda.

Share This