Former AJ Foyt Racing chief race engineer Eric Cowdin who spent the 2020 NTT IndyCar Series season as Alex Palou’s chief engineer at Dale Coyne Racing has reunited with Tony Kanaan for the 2021 season after team owner Dale Coyne confirmed that Cowdin has joined Chip Ganassi Racing as Chief Engineer to the No.48 Carvana Honda which will be shared by seven time Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson who makes the transition to the NTT IndyCar Series on road and street course events while also working with Tony Kanaan for the three oval races in 2021.

Alex Palou has joined Chip Ganassi Racing for the 2021 season to drive the No.10 NTT DATA Honda alongside defending series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda, Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Honda and Jimmie Johnson and Tony Kanaan in the No.48 Carvana Honda.

Dale Coyne has confirmed that his team will announce their 2021 NTT IndyCar Series line up in mid January while also stating that his team’s first test ahead of the new season will take place at Sebring International Raceway on February 1.

It is unclear what the future holds for Santino Ferrucci who took over the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda for Dale Coyne With Vasser Sullivan Racing in 2020 from Sebastien Bourdais who left the team at the end of 2019 and returns to the NTT IndyCar Series in 2021 with AJ Foyt Racing driving the No.14 Chevrolet alongside Dalton Kellett.

Paddock Eye understands that Santino Ferrucci will join Our Motorsports in the NASCAR Xfinity Series in 2021 so it not yet known whether or not he will continue to race in the NTT IndyCar Series in 2021.

The 2021 NTT IndyCar Series season gets underway from March 5-7 2021 with the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg. For more information visit – http://GPSTPETE.COM

Share This