The 2018 Verizon IndyCar Series season is shaping up to be one of the most exciting in recent years with the introduction of the new universal aero-kit along with a number of drivers changes up and down the paddock.

Only one team has a full-time seat available with Dale Coyne Racing searching for a replacement for Ed Jones who has joined Scott Dixon at Chip Ganassi Racing.

Conor Daly would be the most obvious choice for the second seat alongside Sebastien Bourdais at Coyne, Daly has been with the team before and knows how they operate. The Indiana native drove for the out in 2016 and scored his first Verizon IndyCar Series podium finish at the 2016 Chevrolet Dual in Detroit.

Daly moved to AJ Foyt Racing for the 2017 season where he drove alongside Carlos Munoz, however the pair were dropped at the end of the season and were replaced by IndyCar veteran Tony Kanaan and 2018 Verizon IndyCar Series rookie Matheus Leist.

The current 2018 Verizon IndyCar Series grid looks like:

Team Penske – Chevrolet

1 Josef Newgarden

3 Helio Castroneves  – Month of May only

12 Will Power

22 Simon Pagenaud

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda

5 James Hinchcliffe

7 Robert Wickens

77 Jack Harvey – selected races during the 2018 season.

Chip Ganassi Racing – Honda

9 Scott Dixon

10 Ed Jones

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing – Honda

15 Graham Rahal

16 Takuma Sato

Carlin Racing – Chevrolet

8 Max Chilton

83 Charlie

Dale Coyne Racing

18 Sebastien Bourdais

19 TBC

63 Pippa Mann – Indy 500 only

Andretti Autosport

25 Stefan Wilson – Indy 500 only

26 Zach Veach

27 Alexander Rossi

28 Ryan Hunter Reay

29 Carlos Munoz – Indy 500 only

98 Marco Andretti

Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet

20 Ed Carpenter – Ovals only – TBC

21 Spencer Pigot

AJ Foyt Racing – Chevrolet

4 Tony Kanaan

14 Matheus Leist

Share This