Three time Indianapolis 500 winner Dario Franchitti says it is ‘really cool’ when he realized that only he and Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves are the only non American three time winners of the Indianapolis 500.

Franchitti was forced to retire from IndyCar racing at the end of the 2013 season as a result of the injuries he suffered following a crash involving Takuma Sato at the Houston GrandPrix. Speaking on the eve of the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil Dario explained:

The four championships meant a lot to me, but Indianapolis, to win that three times is just a very special thing. I have a really strong bond with it.

Franchitti won the Indianapolis 500 with Andretti Green Racing in 2007, he went on to win the race twice more with Chip Ganassi Racing in 2010 and 2012.


Share This