Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda is the first repeat winner of the 2024 NTT INDYCAR SERIES season as the Iceman led home Marcus Ericsson of Andretti Global and his teammate Marcus Armstrong to take victory on the streets of Detroit in what was an incredibly dramatic race in the Motor City.

Dixon’s second-season victory was following his win in Long Beach in April. The race had everything: rain and action. Dixon said that it was cool for the team.

The victory is Scott Dixon’s 58th career win, and he now leads the championship following a challenging day for defending series champion Alex Palou. Kyle Kirkwood in the No.27 AutoNation Andretti Global Honda was fourth just ahead of Alexander Rossi, who came home in fifth place, where he finished last season.

Will Power recovered from a handful of penalties to finish the race in sixth place just ahead of Pato O’Ward, who came from 12th to finish the event in seventh place just ahead of the charging No.60 Meyer Shank Honda of Felix Rosenqvist, while Santino Ferrucci in the No.14 Sexton Properties AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet had a great race coming home in ninth place. Theo Pourchaire made all three Arrow McLaren cars in the top ten as he rounded it out in tenth place.

Christian Lundgaard looked on target for a top-five finish but was forced to make many fuel stops and came home in 11th, just ahead of Agustin Canapino and Pietro Fittipaldi. Rinus VeeKay was 14th, just ahead of Graham Rahal and Alex Palou, who started the race from the front row. The Spaniard had a disappointing race after a collision with Indianapolis 500 winner Josef Newgarden, who had a dramatic race and was handed a penalty following an issue on pit road.

Jack Harvey was 18th, just ahead of the returning Tristan Vautier, who came home in 18th place. It was a disastrous race for pole-sitter Colton Herta, who ended it in 19th place just ahead of Scott McLaughlin and Sting Ray Robb.

Linus Lundqvist was 22nd, just ahead of Romain Grosjean, while Kyffin Simpson was 24th, just ahead of Helio Castroneves and Josef Newgarden. Christian Rasmussen was the only retirement in 27th place following an engine failure. Newgarden was penalized following an incident on the pit road and had an issue with his fuel rig.

There were 13 penalties handed out in the race, five of which went to Will Power, and eight cautions for a total of 47 laps.

The race was rainy and dramatized throughout, and Dixon heads to Road America next week, leading the championship by 18 points from Alex Palou.




Share This