Defending NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing took the his second win of the season at the Honda Indy 200 at the Mid-Ohio sportscar course. The Iceman scored his sixth Mid-Ohio win and came home just ahead of his team mate Felix Rosenqvist in the No.10 Clover Honda to score his first NTT IndyCar Series podium with a brilliant drive to second.

It was also Chip Ganassi Racing’s first 1-2 finish since Texas in 2015. It was a great race for Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay who came home in third place in the No.28 DHL Honda.

Pole-sitter Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet had a disappointing race as he finished the event in fourth place just ahead of Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda and in doing so he closes to 17 points of championship leader Josef Newgarden who had a day to forget.

Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet finished the race in sixth place just ahead of Spencer Pigot and Colton Herta.

Graham Rahal in the No.15 Fifth Third Bank Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing came home in ninth place while Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda rounded out the top ten.

Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 SealMaster Honda for Dale Coyne with Vasser Sullivan Racing came home in 11th place just ahead of his team mate Santino Ferrucci in the No.19 Cly Del Honda. Ed Jones came home in 13th place in the Autogeek Chevrolet for Ed Carpenter Racing with Scuderia Corsa.

It was a disastrous race for Josef Newgarden in the No.2 PPG Chevrolet as in the closing stages of the race he spun and got stuck in the gravel and as a result finished the race in 14th place.

Marco Andretti in the No.98 Unifirst Honda was 15th just ahead of Max Chilton and RC Enerson. Mathues Matt Leist finished the race in 18th place for AJ Foyt Racing just ahead of Takuma Sato in the No.30 MiJack Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing. Tony Kanaan in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet ended the race in 20th place just ahead of Zach Veach.

It a terrible day for Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports as Marcus Ericsson in the No.7 Arrow Electronics Honda was hit by Takuma Sato on the opening lap punting him into team mate James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda resulting in a broken toe link for Hinch, the Canadian was able to continue but ended the race three laps down while Ericsson had to retire.

Next up for the NTT IndyCar Series is the ABC Supply 500 at Pocono Raceway in three weeks time.

Share This