Reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 Target Chevrolet set the fastest time in the second practice session at Watkins Glen International. Dixon set a fastest time of 01:22.8740s ending the day just ahead of Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves in the No.3 Hitachi Chevrolet.

Will Power was third fastest in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet setting a fastest time of 01:23.0717s ending the session just ahead of Tony Kanaan in the No.10 NTT DATA Chevrolet who spun at the end of the session but had no damage to the car.

Juan Pablo Montoya in the No.2 PPG Automotive Refinish Chevrolet was fifth fastest ending the session just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Jack Hawksworth who was the fastest Honda powered car with a fastest time of 01:23.4463s ending the session just ahead of Graham Rahal who was seventh fastest.

Josef Newgarden was 8th fastest despite suffering a flat tire early on in the session, the driver of the No.21 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka Chevrolet managed to get the car back to the pit-lane without any damage and ended the session just ahead of KVSH Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais while Max Chilton who led the way during the session rounded out the top ten.

Series points leader Simon Pagenaud ended the session in 11th place and hitting the wall right at the end of the session.

Takuma Sato was 12th fastest for AJ Foyt Racing ending the session just ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot. Mikhail Aleshin in the No.7 SMP Racing Honda was 14th fastest.

Alexander Rossi was 15th fastest just ahead of team mate Carlos Munoz and Conor Daly. Charlie Kimball ended the session in 18th place just ahead of Ryan Hunter Reay. RC Enerson was 20th.

James Hinchcliffe was 21st for Schmidt Peterson Motorsport while Andretti Autosport’s Marco Andretti rounded out the order in 22nd place.

Share This