Defending NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing led the way in the opening practice session ahead of Sunday’s Honda Indy 200 at the Mid Ohio sportscar course.

The Iceman set a fastest time of 01:06.0973s and ended the morning just ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot and Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud.

Series points leader Josef Newgarden was fourth fastest just ahead of Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda who set a time of 01:06.3611s.

Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda was sixth just ahead of Team Penske’s Will Power.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist in the No.10 Clover Honda was eighth.

Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda for Dale Coyne with Vasser Sullivan Racing was ninth while on his return Max Chilton rounded out the top ten in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet for Carlin Racing who set a fastest time of 01:06.9364s.

Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda was 11th for Meyer Shank Racing.

Colton Herta in the No.88 GESS Turbines Honda for Harding Steinbrenner Racing was 12th just ahead of Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda.

Takuma Sato and Marco Andretti were 14th and 15th respectively.

Ed Jones was 17th for Ed Carpenter Racing in the No.20 Scuderia Corsa Chevrolet just ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal in the No.15 Fifth Third Bank Honda.

Marcus Ericsson in the No.7 Arrow Electronics Honda was 18th just ahead of Mathues Matt Leist.

Santino Ferrucci in the No.19 Cly Del Honda was 20th just ahead of Carlin Racing’s RC Enerson in the No.31 Lucas Oil School of Racing Chevrolet.

Zach Veach and Tony Kanaan rounded out the order in 22nd and 23rd place.

Share This