Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda set the benchmark on Saturday morning in the final practice session ahead of qualifying for the 2018 Verizon IndyCar Series season opening Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg.

The Iceman set a fastest time of 01:00.7571s ending the session just ahead of defending series champion Josef Newgarden in the No.1 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet.

Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet was third fastest for Team Penske with a time of 01:00.8718s.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Jordan King in the No.20 Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet was extremely quick in the session setting the fourth fastest time of 01:01.0321s before he hit the wall to bring out the red flag in the closing stages of the session.

AJ Foyt Racing’s Matheus ‘Matt’ Leist continued his impressive start to the weekend with the fifth fastest time of 01:01.0321s. The Brazilian ending the session just ahead of 2016 champion Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet.

Spencer Pigot in the No.21 Auto Geek Chevrolet for Ed Carpenter Racing ended the session in seventh place with a 01:01.0940s.

Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda was eighth fastest despite going for a spin at Turn 4.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Takuma Sato in the No.30 MiJack Honda was ninth fastest with a time of 01:01.1510s while Tony Kanaan made it two AJ Foyt Racing cars in the top ten with a time of 01:01.3205s.

Marco Andretti in the No.98 Rouff Home Mortgages Honda was 11th fastest just ahead of his team mate Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda.

The Mayor of HinchTown James Hinchcliffe ended the session in 13th place in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda with a time of 01:01.3592s.

Andretti Autosport’s Zach Veach in the No.26 Group One Thousand One Honda ended the morning in 14th place with a 01:01.3678s.

Defending Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg race winner Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 Seal Master Honda for Dale Coyne with Vasser Sullivan was 15th just ahead of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Robert Wickens in the No.6 Lucas Oil Honda.

Harding Racing’s Gabby Chaves was 17th fastest in the No.88 Chevrolet just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Ed Jones in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal in the No.15 United Rentals Honda was 19th with a time of 01:01.6708s.

Jack Harvey was 20th in the No.60 Michael Shank Racing with SPM Sirius XM Automation Honda.

Carlin Racing’s Max Chilton in the No.53 Gallagher Chevrolet was 21st just ahead of his team mate Charlie Kimball in the No.23 Tresiba® Chevrolet.

Dale Coyne Racing’s Zachary Claman DeMelo was 23rd in the No.19 Paysafe Honda while Juncos Racing’s Rene Binder rounded out the order in 24th place with a 01:02.9615s.

Share This