Defending NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing was fastest in the opening practice session for the Honda Indy Toronto.

The Iceman set a fastest time of 01:01.0723s and ended the morning just ahead of championship leader Josef Newgarden while his Chip Ganassi Racing team mate Felix Rosenqvist in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda ended the session in third place.

Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda for Andretti Autosport was fifth just behind his team mate Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda.

Indianapolis 500 winner Simon Pagenaud was fifth fastest for Team Penske just ahead of Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda.

Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet for Team Penske was seventh just ahead of Sebastien Bourdais while Takuma Sato was ninth for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

Spencer Pigot in the No.21 Autogeek Chevrolet rounded out the top ten.

Marco Andretti was 11th for Bryan Herta Autosport just ahead of Graham Rahal in the No.15 United Rentals Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

Hometown hero James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda was 13th just ahead of Ed Jones and Harding Steinbrenner Racing’s Colton Herta in the No.88 GESS Capstone Honda.

Carlin Racing’s Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet was 16th just ahead of Zach Veach and Santino Ferrucci in the No.19 Cly Del Honda for Dale Coyne Racing.

Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Marcus Ericsson in the No.7 Arrow Electronics Honda was 19th just ahead of the AJ Foyt Racing duo of Tony Kanaan and Mathues Matt Leist.

Sage Karam rounded out the order for Carlin Racing with a time of 01:03.976s.

Share This