Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 NTT DATA Honda led the way in Friday’s second practice session at Watkins Glen.

The Iceman set a fastest time of 01:22.618s ending the day just ahead of Team Penske’s Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet.

Graham Rahal was third fastest for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing just ahead of reigning series champion Simon Pagenaud. Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi was fifth fastest just ahead of Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves. Charlie Kimball was seventh in the No.83 Tresiba® Honda.

Ryan Hunter Reay was eighth in the No.28 DHL Honda just ahead of Takuma Sato.

Series points leader Josef Newgarden roubded out the top ten for Team Penske.

Tony Kanaan was 11th just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais. AJ Foyt Racing’s Conor Daly and Carlos Munoz were 13th and 14th respectively.

Spencer Pigot was 15th for Ed Carpenter Racing just ahead of Marco Andretti.

Max Chilton was 17th despite hitting the barrier hard at Turn 5. Jack Harvey was 18th just ahead of his team mate James Hinchcliffe. JR Hildebrand was 20th while Ed Jones rounded out the order in 21st place for Dale Coyne Racing.


Share This