Six-time NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion and 2008 Indianapolis 500 champion Scott Dixon, in the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda, was the pace-setter on Tuesday morning’s opening morning of practice for the 108th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge. The Iceman set a fastest speed of 229.107MPH, ending up just ahead of Andretti Global’s Marco Andretti, who set a 228.399MPH.

Takuma Sato, who returns to Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, ended the session in third place, just ahead of Pato O’Ward and Christian Lundgaard. Helio Castroneves, who has become a team co-owner at Meyer Shank Racing, was sixth fastest with a 223.696MPH, just ahead of Colton Herta and Felix Rosenqvist, while Kyle Kirkwood was ninth. AJ Foyt Racing’s Sting Ray Robb rounded out the top ten in the No.41 Chevrolet. Callum Ilott was 11th, just ahead of Marcus Ericsson and Ryan Hunter Reay.

Romain Grosjean was 14th for Juncos Hollinger Racing with Conor Daly in the second Dreyer and Reinbold Racing with Cusick Motorsports Chevrolet in 15th just ahead of Ed Carpenter.

Tom Blomqvist was 17th ahead of Scott McLaughlin in the No.3 Pennzoil Team Penske Chevrolet. Alexander Rossi was 19th, just ahead of Agustin Canapino, who rounded out the top twenty.

Christian Rasmussen was 21st, just ahead of fellow rookie Nolan Siegel, while Santino Ferrucci was 23rd for AJ Foyt Racing. Graham Rahal was 24th, just ahead of his Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing teammate Pietro Fittipaldi, while Rinus VeeKay was 26th. Kyle Larson, competing in his first Indianapolis 500, was 27th in the No.17 Arrow McLaren Chevrolet.

Defending Indianapolis 500 winner Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Shell Team Penske Chevrolet had a sensor issue and was 28th, just ahead of his teammate Will Power.

The practice is currently under a weather advisory, but INDYCAR and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway hope to complete more laps later today.

Share This