Defending NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon, driver of the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda will make his 273rd consecutive start in this weekend’s 2021 NTT IndyCar Series season-opening Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park, the second-longest streak in series history. The Iceman’s teammate Tony Kanaa holds the all-time record of 317 consecutive starts.

In his ten previous starts here, Dixon has scored eight podium finishes however, the six-time series champion has yet to stand on the top step here and will be hoping that he enters victory lane this weekend.

Dixon is joined at Chip Ganassi Racing this weekend by seven-time Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson who will make his NTT IndyCar Series race debut this weekend in the No.48 Carvana Chip Ganassi Racing Honda while Alex Palou will make his Chip Ganassi Racing debut in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda having moved from Dale Coyne Racing over the course of the off-season.

Marcus Ericsson returns to the No.8 Huski Chocolate Honda for a second season.

Speaking during a special presentation at Chip Ganassi Racing shop on Monday, Dixon said that he can’t wait to get after it again this weekend and that he credits his longevity with team down to the people who he says inspire him to succeed.

Share This