Scott Dixon, driver of the No.9 PNC Bank Chip LaGanassi Racing Honda, who is the only driver to be a repeat winner so far during the 2024 NTT INDYCAR SERIES season, will make his 330th career start at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca for this weekend’s Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey in California. The Iceman has taken victories in Long Beach and Detroit this year and currently lies third in the championship, just 11 points behind leader Will Power.

Last time out at the XPEL Grand Prix of Road America, the Iceman, who started the race from tenth place, came home in 21st after being forced to make a last-minute stop for fuel in the race’s closing laps.

Dixon heads to Laguna Seca as the defending race winner, having taken victory in the race here last season, leading home a New Zealand 1-2 with Scott McLaughlin of Team Penske having finished second with Alex Palou completing the podium for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Dixon is one of only three previous winners at Laguna Seca in the field, with Alex Palou and Colton Herta also winning here. Thus, Honda is the only manufacturer to have won on this famous circuit.

The Chip Ganassi Racing Honda driver heads into the race aiming for his 59th career victory.

Below is a recap of the chaotic Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey.

(Video courtesy of INDYCAR via

This weekend’s race is also the end of an era, as it will be the last race before the introduction of the eagerly anticipated introduction of the new hybrid era which comes into affect at Honda Indy 200 at the Mid-Ohio Sportscar Course.

Share This