Five time NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon who drives the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing embarks on his 20th season in the series this weekend as the 2020 season gets underway with the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg.

AJ Foyt Racing’s Tony Kanaan holds the record for most consecutive starts with 317 however that streak ended with the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca last season.

TK will not start the race in St Pete meaning that the Iceman Scott Dixon takes over the mantle of most consecutive race starts which stands at 258.

Speaking about the number of starts he has made, Dixon said:

Man I haven’t really thought about that. I thought TK was real old, but what does that really say about me now?,” the 39-year-old Dixon said. “Seriously though, I think we all still love seeing TK compete and know what he’s meant to the sport over his long and successful career. It will be weird not having him on the grid this weekend. I’m not sure I’ll ever reach the mark he set … that’s a ways away for sure. TK has been a great ambassador and champion for INDYCAR over the years and I hope to carry on the streak for years to come and maybe that will be with the PNC Bank car in victory lane Sunday.”

Share This